P90X VS. Beer

12 Apr

Often times I hear that beer is bad for you. Boo. I don’t agree with that. With my current limited knowledge of homebrewing beer, I’ve realized that I put a bunch of water into what comes out as beer. My first two brewing experiences were very enjoyable. I have learned HOW beer is made and WHAT to do and not to do WHEN making it.

As I sit in my living room typing this, I am sipping on my pilsner, listening to DMB and trying to take in the cool”er” air of my apartment (which my workplace did not have today. Thanks). Over the past week I’ve treated myself to, for lack of a better word, shitty food for the body. See, I am beginning P90X on Monday, and that means DIET! Now my friends and coworkers will definitely say that I’ve talked too much about this P90X, but I the fact is that I’m nervous and can’t stop thinking about it!

I’m by no means a LARGE man, but I’ve put on a little beer gut over the past couple years (post-college gut), and summer is quickly approaching (it was 91F in D.C. the other day?!). I’ve decided to do P90X to feel better, get stronger and… who am I kidding. P90X means NO BEER!!! Or does it?

Facts about beer (not NattyLight):

1. Beer is about 95% water and 5% alcohol

2. Beer has a good amount of varying vitamins (granted it isn’t much)

3. All this talk about “fewer carbs in a beer” is BULL. An average beer only has about 150 calories. The average person needs about 2000 calories per day (assuming their not doing P90X) and a banana has 120 calories and a VERY high sugar content.

Knowing this about beer, I’m more inclined to have a brew with a clear conscious while doing P90X. Maybe not “WHILE” but after the workouts. 🙂 While beer is on the “can intake” list, many of my favorite foods have been bumped:

1. Juicy Lucy burgers

2. LOADED omelets

3. Cinnabons

4. Philly Cheese Steak sandwiches

5. so on…

Any tips on how to not go insane by removing beer completely but maintaining my strict diet schedule for P90X? I’d love to hear.

In the meantime, it’s important that YOU have a beer for me. I’d love to hear about it. I’m sure I’ll sneak a couple away every week.

2 Responses to “P90X VS. Beer”

  1. Greg April 13, 2013 at 3:02 am #

    The fact that you think you have a beer gut makes me want to vomit on you. I’m stripping in front of you at work so you’ll learn what a beer gut is. I mean….good luck with P90X! I’ll miss drinking with you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 5 Ways I Convince Myself to Workout | mintjulep87 - April 25, 2013

    […] P90X VS. Beer (boeserbrau.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Diary of a nano brewery

A very competent brewery, two slightly less competent brewers

The Watt Club

The Alumni Association of Heriot-Watt University

BeerCritic

A review site for craft beer

Beer by Bike

Beer, Bikes, Food and Drinks in the Philadelphia area

Beer (& More) In Food

Beer: The Condiment With An Attitude!

Atlantic Canada Beer Blog

Blogging about everything in Atlantic Canadian beer news

Andy The Beerman

Thoughts, Ramblings and Occasional Insights from a Confessed Beer Geek

The Ale Evangelist Show

Spreading the good news of good booze throughout the land.

A Taste of Beer

All about the beer I taste around the world.

A pint for Dionysus

A beer and homebrewing blog

Bottled Roger's Beers

Make the beer. Drink the beer. Repeat ...

Student of Beer

I learn about beer, I drink beer. Sometimes in that order.

365 days... 365 beers

Finished the initial 365 beers. Into the bonus round!

Laurie Delk

My life in beer, wine, travel, & media.

Short On Beer

On a mission to learn the art of craft beer

Slow Happy Living

Having fun and enjoying life, one moment at a time

Boeser Brau

My beerventure to becoming a Micro-Brewer.

